Ifly4trout.com Forum Index Ifly4trout.com
San Juan River Forum

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Red Annelid vs. red midge larva

View previous topic :: View next topic  
mcgurtis

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 8:54 am    Post subject: Red Annelid vs. red midge larva Reply with quote

Ok so I hear other posters on this site report fish being caught on "red annelid's". I have been under the impression, belief, etc. that the San Juan does not have annelids naturally, but the fly that is imitated is the midge larva. I am not a scientist and have nothing to back up my belief other than an old guide buddy. I just wanted to open a debate about it to get your ideas. Do the Juan have red annelids or red midge larva? Does the name even matter because the tie is the same?

Have a nice day
Curtis
twmack

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2009 4:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The name "Red Annelid" is a generic name. It is used loosely to describe any red color aquatic worm from the phylum annelida either from the class polychaetes or oligochaete. The red larvae that they talk about is the red colored larva of the subfamily tanypodinae of the family chironomidae ( or midges as we generally call them). The thing is when both are present in the waters, like the San Juan you can use the same patterns to represent both. They are very similar when they are in the early stages of life. Unless you have a microscope and some biology education you can't tell the difference.