Ifly4trout.com Forum Index Ifly4trout.com
San Juan River Forum

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

how to fill my fly book

View previous topic :: View next topic  
mad_skillz86

PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2008 10:57 am    Post subject: how to fill my fly book Reply with quote

hi im new to fly fishing and fly tying i was wondering what would be a bunch of good bugs to put into my fly box ive got some basics (midges and some loopwings and foam wings ) but i was wondering if i could get some help for filling my book so that i can have a good assortment of flies and not a bunch of "fisherman catching " flies....

also i have trolled the web and found a ton of good sites for the san juan including mike mora and others should i just put the bugs from these sites or should there be some " go to" flies and some flies that work all the time compared to some that are just hot once and a great while.... im planning on fishing mostly the upper river ...(cable upper flats and around there) but my other favorite spot is down around abes shop

a little help would be very appreciated..
thanks
FishnPreach

PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2008 12:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you start filling your fly box with fly's off of this website then you will be more than well on your way. Considering Mike's time on this river and his background and his recommendations come highly rated!!!

I am not a guide, nor do I spend near as much time on this river as many others in this forum do, however I have tied quite a few of Mikes fly's and fish them as recommended by him and well known guides, and fish-a-plenty are caught. Mike Mora has done fishermen coming to the SJ a great blessing by providing accurate fly patterns and the recipe's for tying them. Use them!